Select Page

The Conclusion of the 126th, a Pandemic Season
6 JUNE 2021

WHEN in our music God is glorified,
And adoration leaves no room for pride,
It is as though the whole creation cried
Alleluia!…….F. Pratt Green

This year the choirs celebrate our 126th season of musical offerings. The second pandemic time through which the choir have sung, the first being1918!

It has been an inspiring year of fellowship, music making and problem solving.
I am grateful to everyone for the spirit of love and care that has held us together.
We could never have foreseen this time, but we have faced it and the music has flowed.

Thank you Music and Choir Steering Committees…….
Normally at this time I thank these dedicated people who oversee all the musical offerings, fabric and every aspect of musical and chorister life for our community.
This season they rose to a new level of care in developing our protocols to stay safe and well so rehearsals and services continued as best practice could and can allow.

Please stand so we may give you a big thank you.

A big hug, love and thank you to……

Second through Eighth Grade representatives
Mary Cannon *
Kyung Choi
Shari Coats
Tunde Csonka
Rebecca Dixon
James Gomez
Karen Gorman
Leah Johnson
Shingmin Lai
Julie McAskin
Kevin P McCoy
Veronica Maginnis
Marlaine Olinick
Dominique Schulte
Jenny West

Alumni and High School representatives
Meaghan Cheung
Sarah E Cogan *
Dana Foote
Vicky Hurley
Kathy Keane
Ellen McElduff *
Kevin Rotheroe*
Erik Sorensen *
Anne Zaccaro

*Music Committee

I’d like to recognize the following people for gifts humbly and beautifully offered.
Please and be recognized.

Mary Cannon, Shari Coats, Tunde Csonka, Sunshine Gola and Shingmin Lai for leading and organizing us in so many beautiful ways.

James Gomez, Karen Gorman and Veronica Maginnis, the Covid Protocol Research and Planning Committee.

James Gomez for Excel Excellence, Cheerleading and managing our Choir Parent Helper Programs.

Elana Foundos and Vincent D’Onofrio with at ARTeffect for all your help and inspiration with graphics and visuals.

Jim and Anne Wroten for your amazing work caring for the website and developing the live streaming outreach.

Kathy Keane for her continued sharing of gifts on so many levels and caring for the Platform that supports the on line choir schedules.

Heavenly members of the Parish Choir and my six o’clock colleagues that support the 9 a.m. and 6 p.m. services.
How I’ve missed working with them this season, they have been singing along at home. September and their return can’t come too soon.

Eileen Clark for her beautiful work administering the schedule and personnel of the Adult Choir.

Adult Singers for your beautiful offerings especially during these pandemic times.

Amy E. Bartram
Eileen D. Clark
Peter Gruett
Benjamin Howard
Melissa Kelly
Nathan Riehl
Suzanne Schwing
A.J. Stetson
Marsha Young

We recognize the novice choristers who showed outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award.

Sconset Gushee
William Naples

We recognize two junior choristers who have shown outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award.

Kiera Cryan
Jack Jedlicka

We continue three awards named for former Organists of Grace Church. Combined they served the Parish for ninety-eight years – laying the foundations for the choral tradition we now care for and enjoy.

The James Helfenstein Award is named for the First Headmaster and Choirmaster of the Choir of Men and Boys for whose education Grace Church School was founded. It is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for the example offered in service of God and community. These are best summed up in the words of Saint Paul – “I will sing with the spirit and I will sing with the understanding also.”

This year it goes to:

Clementine McCoy

The Ernest Mitchell award for Musical Leadership is named for Mr. Helfenstein’s successor. It was under Mr. Mitchell the choir achieved legendary excellence. It was under Mr. Mitchell that his successor, Frank Smith sang as a boy. Besides his musical excellence and that of his choir, Mr. Mitchell is frequently thought of for his down to earth nature and humility. This award is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for gifts humbly offered which lead to the continued musical growth and health of the choirs of this church.

This year it goes to:

Tess Gola

Frank Cedric Smith succeeded Mr. Mitchell and served Grace Church from 1960-1992. Mr. Smith is remembered by all his choristers for the twinkle in his eye, the warmth of his spirit and his love of Bach and Britten.

This award recognizes that chorister who demonstrates a deep passion for music and bring an exuberant joy to the life of the choirs.

The year it goes to:

Tenley Seirer

The 8th Grade Choristers who are graduating….

Maeve Cannon
Jonas Coats
Sydney Davey
Tess Gola
Clementine McCoy
Tenley Seirer
Vivienne Skrypek
Daveonna Vincent

Officiant: Let us pray.

For Education

Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom: Enlighten by your Holy Spirit those who teach and those who learn, that, rejoicing in the knowledge of your truth, they may worship you and serve you from generation to generation; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

For Musicians

O God, whom saints and angels delight to worship in heaven, be ever present with your servants who seek through music to perfect the praises offered by your people on earth; and grant them even now glimpses of your beauty, and make them worthy at length to behold it unveiled for evermore; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

Let every instrument be tuned for praise!
Let all rejoice who have a voice to raise!
And may God give us faith to sing always
Alleluia! Amen……..F. Pratt Green