Select Page

Thank you everyone again for all your hard work and loving support of all the work of the choirs. I am so grateful to you all!


When we sing to God in Heaven,
We shall find such harmony
Born of all we’ve known together of Christ’s love and agony,

We are pilgrims on a journey,
Fellow travelers on the road,
We are here to help each other walk the mile and bear the load.

This text is from a new anthem the choristers learned this season and offered on the January concert with Barry Rose. Help and support one another all have….and what an Extraordinary Year it has been, with so much growth and fun in community and musical offerings.

Thank you Choir Steering Committee
Oversee Chorister Life and supports the special projects of the Choristers.
Activities: the Thanksgiving Pie Sale, The beautiful Easter Morning Breakfast,
Annual Concert Reception, the greatly anticipated Raffle, Vestment Care, Choir
Parent Helper Program, Grace Church School Weekend, Recruiting, Picnics and

As I call your names, please stand so we can show our appreciation to you all.

Vidgis Boulton Burke
Brad and Mary Burnham
Abby Carr
Sarah Cogan
Gary Fagin
Dana and Sherman Foote
Jan Ford
Laura Holt
Vicky Hurley
Laurel Lesio
Sarah McCain
Llewellyn Sinkler
Caroline Toms
Don Waring

Would the following people stand and be recognized for gifts humbly and beautifully offered, please hold your applause so we can recognize them together.

Vincent Dixon and his studio for your beautiful photography

Elana Foundos with her partner at FP Design Robin Presslaff for all your help and inspiration with graphics and visuals.

Oliva Nunez of the GO Project who supported the birth of our new GO Junior Choristers program.

Heavenly members of the Parish Choir that support the 9 a.m. service.

Six O’clock colleagues, David LeSueur and Jim Ferraiuolo

Adult Singers for your beautiful offerings all season on your own, with the Parish Choir and your support of the Chorister Program.

Margarete Lee for your grace filled page turning.

Members of the Choir Tour planning committee and our Tour Chaperons.

Stephen Tharp for your support and musical offerings

This year a large group of choristers had perfect attendance for the entire year.
As their names are called they should stand to be recognized.

Phil Holt
Ian Rotheroe
Bennett Slibeck
Mahlon Sorensen
James Waring
Luke Waring

Taylor Cave
Imogene Dunn
Nell Hurley
Micaela Macagnone
Katherine Overmyer
Charlotte Phillips
Cadence Plenge
Eden Sherrod
Emma Slibeck
Katherine Sorensen
Catherine Cheung

We recognize four junior choristers who have shown outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award. Would you please stand to be recognized.

Imogene Dunn Ian Rotheroe
Catherine Cheung Zo Williams
We continue three awards named for former Organists of Grace Church. Combined they served the Parish for ninty-eight years – laying the foundations for the choral tradition we now care for and enjoy.

The James Helfenstein Award is named for the First Headmaster and Choirmaster of the Choir of Men and Boys for whose education Grace Church School was founded. It is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for the example offered in service of God and community. These are best summed up in the words of Saint Paul – “I will sing with the spirit and I will sing with the understanding also.”

This year it goes to:

Bennett Slibeck

The Ernest Mitchell award for Musical Leadership is named for Mr. Helfenstein’s successor. It was under Mr. Mitchell the choir achieved legendary excellence. It was under Mr. Mitchell that his successor, Frank Smith sang as a boy. Besides his musical excellence and that of his choir, Mr. Mitchell is frequently thought of for his down to earth nature and humility. This award is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for gifts humbly offered which lead to the continued musical growth and health of the choirs of this church.

This year it goes to:

Micaela Macagnone

Frank Cedric Smith Choirmaster succeeded Mr. Mitchell and served Grace Church from 1960-1992. Mr. Smith is remembered by all his choristers for the twinkle in his eye, the warmth of his spirit and his love of Bach and Britten.

This award recognizes that chorister who demonstrates a deep passion for music and bring an exuberant joy to the life of the choirs.

The recipient is:

Camille Ollivierre

Ask the 8th graders to stand as their names are called to be recognized.

Matthew Chanler Burnham
Nicholas Bradford Burnham
Naman Vijay Chhatpar
Benjamin Edward Eisenstadt
Philetus Havens Holt, V
Caitlin Farley McSween
Micaela Macagnone
Michael D. Montes de Oca
Camille Asia Ollivierre
Charlotte Feeney Phillips
Samantha Menlo Scali
Isabel Chanler Shamamian
Allison Megan Delgado-Whitehurst

at the conclusion

Officiant: Let us pray.

For Education

Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom: Enlighten by your Holy Spirit those who teach and those who learn, that, rejoicing in the knowledge of your truth, they may worship you and serve you from generation to generation; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

For Musicians

O God, whom saints and angels delight to worship in heaven, be ever present with your servants who seek through music to perfect the praises offered by your people on earth; and grant them even now glimpses of your beauty, and make them worthy at length to behold it unveiled for evermore; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.