Select Page


This year the choirs celebrate our 128th season of musical offerings.

It has been an inspiring year of fellowship, music making and problem solving.
I am grateful for all of you, for gifts of love, hospitality and care that has bound us together in wonder, love and praise.
Through it all the light shined, love flowed and the music has bloomed.

Thank you Music and Choir Steering Committees…….
Please join me in thanking these dedicated people who oversee all the musical offerings, fabric and every aspect of musical and chorister life for our community.

Mary Cannon
Kyung Choi
Shari Coats
Tunde Csonka
Rebecca Dixon
Sunshine Gola
James Gomez
Karen Gorman
Leah Johnson
Shingmin Lai
Veronica Maginnis
Marlaine Olinick
Dominique Schulte

Alumni Chorister Parents:
Meaghan Cheung
Sarah E Cogan
Dana Foote
Vicky Hurley
Kathy Keane
Ellen McElduff
Erik Sorensen
Anne Zaccaro

I’d like to recognize the following people for gifts humbly and beautifully offered.
Stand as your name is called and remain standing.
Please hold your show of gratitude until I finish acknowledging them.

Mary Cannon, Tunde Csonka, Rebecca Dixon, Sushine Gola, and James Gomez for leading and organizing us in so many beautiful ways.

Elana Foundos and Vincent D’Onofrio with at ARTeffect for all your help and inspiration with graphics and visuals.

Jim and Anne Wroten for your amazing work caring for the website and developing the live streaming outreach.

Ellen McElduff for her beautiful decorations of the church especially the magnificent flowers that inspire us all and beautify special choir events.

Kathy Keane for her continued sharing of gifts on so many levels and caring for the Platform that supports the on line choir schedules.

Dana Foote for coming forth to mentoring and inspiring us all and inspiring the community with her gifts of hospitality and organization.

Please join me in thanking our Adult Choir for all their musical leadership throughout the season.

We recognize the following choristers for Perfect Attendance, please stand to be recognized:

Christopher Diveki
James Gomez
Thibault Antonio
Teddy Armer
Luca McGee
Luca Schiff
Yuli Davis
Cyrus Kuni

Abby Gomez
Eva Dixon
Delphina Bragen
Esme Hynes
Aviva Romans
Camilla Bates
Ryland Goldberg
Julia Lippmann

We recognize these novice choristers who showed outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award.

Cyrus Kuni Camilla Bates
Niall Harrington Delphina Bragen

We recognize these junior choristers who have shown outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award.

James Gomez Claire Min
William Naples Victoria Lee

We recognize these senior choristers who have shown outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award.

Leo Lewis Bordley Gushee

We continue three awards named for former Organists of Grace Church. Combined they served the Parish for ninety-eight years – laying the foundations for the choral tradition we now care for and enjoy.

The James Helfenstein Award is named for the First Headmaster and Choirmaster of the Choir of Men and Boys for whose education Grace Church School was founded. It is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for the example offered in service of God and community. These are best summed up in the words of Saint Paul – “I will sing with the spirit and I will sing with the understanding also.”

This year it goes to:

Oscar Fitzharding

The Ernest Mitchell award for Musical Leadership is named for Mr. Helfenstein’s successor. It was under Mr. Mitchell the choir achieved legendary excellence. It was under Mr. Mitchell that his successor, Frank Smith sang as a boy. Besides his musical excellence and that of his choir, Mr. Mitchell is frequently thought of for his down to earth nature and humility. This award is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for gifts humbly offered which lead to the continued musical growth and health of the choirs of this church.

This year it goes to:

Pia Erwine

Frank Cedric Smith Choirmaster succeeded Mr. Mitchell and served Grace Church from 1960-1992. Mr. Smith is remembered by all his choristers for the twinkle in his eye, the warmth of his spirit and his love of Bach and Britten.

This award recognizes that chorister who demonstrates a deep passion for music and bring an exuberant joy to the life of the choirs.

The year it goes to:

Hailey Popov

Ask the 8th graders to stand as their names are called to be recognized.

Theodore Woodward Cannon
Christopher Adam Divéki
Pia Erwine
Oscar Leo Jacob Fitzharding
Ciara Grace Gorman
Eva Kathleen Gorman
Arthur Emile Root

Officiant: Let us pray.

For Education

Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom: Enlighten by your Holy Spirit those who teach and those who learn, that, rejoicing in the knowledge of your truth, they may worship you and serve you from generation to generation; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

For Musicians

O God, whom saints and angels delight to worship in heaven, be ever present with your servants who seek through music to perfect the praises offered by your people on earth; and grant them even now glimpses of your beauty, and make them worthy at length to behold it unveiled for evermore; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.