Select Page

Senior Boy and Girl Choristers 2014 - 2015
Thank you everyone again for all your hard work and loving support of all the work of the choirs. I am so grateful to you all!


How often, making music, we have found a new dimension in the world of sound, as worship moved us to a more profound Alleluia!

This has been a year of new dimensions – fun, fellowship, learning and musical growth – a season of bringing years of practice and performance into focus in the creation of beauty through music and joy filled fellowship. Truly, a community for everyone celebrating excellence in music and God’s love for all.


Choirs, would you join me in thanking our congregation, clergy, staff and our families for all their support, love and prayers!

Thank you Choir Steering Committee
Oversee Chorister Life and supports the special projects of the Choristers.
Activities: the Thanksgiving Pie Sale, The beautiful Easter Morning Breakfast,
Annual Concert Reception, the greatly anticipated Raffle, Vestment Care, Choir
Parent Helper Program, Grace Church School Weekend, Recruiting, Picnics and
Cookouts!. Planning for a Concert Tour to France in two weeks!

As I call your names, please stand so we can show our appreciation to you all.
Boy and Girl Junior Choristers 2014-2015

Abby Carr
Andy Carrigan
Shannon Cave
Meaghan Cheung
Sarah Cogan
Dana Foote
Vicky Hurley
Katherine Keane
Sarah McCain
Ellen McElduff
Kevin Rotheroe
Erik Sorensen
Anne Zaccaro
Don Waring

Would the following people stand and be recognized for gifts humbly and beautifully offered, please hold your applause so we can recognize them together.

Melinda Weir for organizing us and managing our Choir Parent Helper Program.

Stacie Waring for her beautiful care and work with our vestments.

Members of the Music Committee of the Church:
Abby Carr, Sarah Cogan, Kevin Rotheroe and Erik Sorensen.

Elana Foundos and Vincent D’Onofrio with at ARTeffect for all your help and inspiration with graphics and visuals.

Heavenly members of the Parish Choir that support the 9 a.m. service.

Six O’clock colleagues, David LeSueur and Jim Ferraiuolo

Adult Singers for your beautiful offerings all season on your own, with the Parish Choir and your support of the Chorister Program.

Suzanne Schwing
Biraj Barkakaty
Daniel Near
Robert Lukomski
Andrew J. Parrillo
James J. Rollins
Amy E. Bartram
Eileen D. Clark
Brittany Palmer

George Fergus for all your help and musical support as our first Yale Institute of Sacred Music Organ Scholar.

This year eleven choristers had perfect attendance for the entire year.
As their names are called they should stand to be recognized.

Beatrix Flynn
Emelia Dempsey
Juliet Gray
Catherine Cheung
Reid Farrington
Xander Farrington
Harry Spindler
James Spindler
Marcus Dawkins
Ian Rotheroe
Luke Waring

We recognize four junior choristers who have shown outstanding growth during this choir season, both musically and in their leadership skills. They receive this year’s most improved chorister award. Would you please stand to be recognized.
Milly McAskin, Charlie Head
Lila Hussein, James Cave

We continue three awards named for former Organists of Grace Church. Combined they served the Parish for ninety-eight years – laying the foundations for the choral tradition we now care for and enjoy.

The James Helfenstein Award is named for the First Headmaster and Choirmaster of the Choir of Men and Boys for whose education Grace Church School was founded. It is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for the example offered in service of God and community. These are best summed up in the words of Saint Paul – “I will sing with the spirit and I will sing with the understanding also.”

This year it goes to:

Camilla McGarry

The Ernest Mitchell award for Musical Leadership is named for Mr. Helfenstein’s successor. It was under Mr. Mitchell the choir achieved legendary excellence. It was under Mr. Mitchell that his successor, Frank Smith sang as a boy. Besides his musical excellence and that of his choir, Mr. Mitchell is frequently thought of for his down to earth nature and humility. This award is given to a chorister in thanksgiving for gifts humbly offered which lead to the continued musical growth and health of the choirs of this church.

This year it goes to:

Stephen Carr

Frank Cedric Smith Choirmaster succeeded Mr. Mitchell and served Grace Church from 1960-1992. Mr. Smith is remembered by all his choristers for the twinkle in his eye, the warmth of his spirit and his love of Bach and Britten.

This award recognizes that chorister who demonstrates a deep passion for music and bring an exuberant joy to the life of the choirs.

The recipient is:

Julius Dunn

Ask the 8th graders to stand as their names are called to be recognized.

Stephen Erickson Carr
Julius Lloyd Dunn
Robert Miles Redd McCain
Nicholas McGarry Hurley, Optimus

Catherine Sun Ho Cheung, Optima
Constance Laranja Gooding
Nina Elizabeth Blum Houston
Camilla McGarry
Eden Henderson Sherrod


at the conclusion

Officiant: Let us pray.

For Education

Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom: Enlighten by your Holy Spirit those who teach and those who learn, that, rejoicing in the knowledge of your truth, they may worship you and serve you from generation to generation; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

For Musicians

O God, whom saints and angels delight to worship in heaven, be ever present with your servants who seek through music to perfect the praises offered by your people on earth; and grant them even now glimpses of your beauty, and make them worthy at length to behold it unveiled for evermore; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.